Our Little Winter Wonderland

So, I may have overdone it this year with Christmas decorations. Currently there are 18 trees in our home made of different materials and ranging in size from 6 inches to 6.5 feet tall. I am guilty of buying clearance decorations each year after Christmas, packing them away, and then being completely surprised when I open the bins the following year because I’ve forgotten what I’ve bought. It does make for a nice surprise, though, like a pre-Christmas present opening. 🙂

This is what was stored in the garage, a collection of decorations spanning 7 years.

After 2 days of decorating, along with my kids’ help, this is how everything turned out (daytime view).

And at night, when everything is lit up.

I love how everything sparkles! All the decorations have been bought over the years from Target, Walmart, and Dollar Tree. This year, the tree ornaments are all silver, gold, and lime and most are angels to go along with my fiber optic angel tree topper that I adore, purchased when I was pregnant with my 1st child. On the table are keepsake ornaments for my kids including Classic Pooh, Baby’s 1st Christmas, and even one that my son made. I also enjoy being able to look back at how our family has changed over the years in family Christmas photos. A definite change from last year’s Christmas, and all the years prior to that, is the addition of a gift box tree stand that I “diy-ed”.

My 6.5 foot artificial tree that was purchased like 7 years ago has always looked kind of puny to me, as seen here. I needed a sturdy way to raise it a couple feet off the floor. I had an old LACK side table from Ikea in the garage that wasn’t being used and would be sturdy enough to hold the tree. Then Mom gave me the brilliant idea of turning it into a gift box to hide the table. With some pieces of cardboard, ribbon and wrapping paper from Dollar Tree (adhered with tape and a hot glue gun), and some tulle from Walmart, I now have an inexpensive tree stand that makes my puny tree appear more substantial. Here’s what I used.

 

Hooray for an easy/inexpensive diy and affordable holiday décor! 🙂

One thought on “Our Little Winter Wonderland

  1. Pingback: Bedroom 2/Nursery | J. Marie's Perspective

Leave a Reply

