Front Porch Makeover

When we first moved into our home, around 2.5 months ago, it was still cold outside and the front porch got a little neglected with our trying to get the inside of the house in order. I brought some potted perennial plants with me from Atlanta, but I wasn’t sure if they were going to come back this spring because the winter had been so cold, especially days before we moved (and my poor plants sat inside the freezing truck). And it seems that we brought the cold weather with us because we had the joy of experiencing the ice storm in Charleston that caused a power outage for 2 days! So, here’s how my poor plants  and porch looked:

 

 

 

 

I took a visit to Lowe’s and bought some potting soil and packs of flowers that were marked down from $9.98 to $.63 (yes, I even buy plants on clearance, too!) and some coconut liners from Big Lots to use on the plant stand.

After I trimmed the dead parts of the plants (I didn’t mess with the roots just in case my perennials came back), I planted the new flowers in my old pots and added coconut liners to the 3 tier plant stand and added flowers to that. Here’s the end result:

Better, but the seat cushions were old and dirty and the chairs looked dingy. So, I spray painted the chairs and found some new cushions at Ross to go with these 2 I had found at Target before we moved.

I also added some solar lights to our walkway that I bought on clearance at Target before we moved.

So here’s how the front porch looks now. I moved some things around and added a potted mandevilla plant bought on clearance from Lowe’s and a pillow from World Market that I got for $11 after coupons. I re-used the 2 pillows I bought from Old Time Pottery around $8 each a couple years ago. And my perennials are coming back, too!

Now we’re ready for spring, and the front porch looks so much more inviting.

3 thoughts on “Front Porch Makeover

  1. Pingback: House Tour | J. Marie's Perspective

  2. Pingback: Trellis in a Pot | J. Marie's Perspective

  3. Pingback: Outdoor Updates with DIY Landscaping | J. Marie's Perspective

Leave a Reply

